Search

reelgrok editorial staff

Finding your Google search results oddly exacting of late? Almost as if they knew you? A bit too well…?

Trouble is, they do.

Google’s tracking your every move. And feeding back search results that aren’t particularly accurate, just personalized to match your profile. Instead of returning results from the real world, Google is giving you what it (and it’s advertisers) think you want….

Fortunately, you don’t have to put up with it.

Here’s how to stop those personalized results permanently. You’ll get more accurate search results for your effort.

Start by going to Google’s home page. Now search for anything, your own name if you like.

Look for the little cogwheel on the upper right-hand side of the page. Click it, then select “Search settings” which will take you to your preferences page. Then look for Personal Results. You’ll find two choices, “Use personal results” and “Do not use personal results.”

Click “Do not use personal results,” then scroll down and click the save button. A window will tell you that your preferences have been saved. Close the window.

On your next search (and forever after), your results will no longer be personalized.

reelgrok editorial staff

Finding your Google search results oddly exacting of late? Almost as if they knew you? A bit too well…?

Trouble is, they do.

Google’s tracking your every move. And feeding back search results that aren’t particularly accurate, just personalized to match your profile. Instead of returning results from the real world, Google is giving you what it (and it’s advertisers) think you want….

Fortunately, you don’t have to put up with it.

Here’s how to stop those personalized results permanently. You’ll get more accurate search results for your effort.

Start by going to Google’s home page. Now search for anything, your own name if you like.

CogLook for the little cogwheel on the upper right-hand side of the page. Click it, then select “Search settings” which will take you to your preferences page. Then look for Personal Results. You’ll find two choices, “Use personal results” and “Do not use personal results.”

Click “Do not use personal results,” then scroll down and click the save button. A window will tell you that your preferences have been saved. Close the window.

On your next search (and forever after), your results will no longer be personalized.